Accessibility Help Page

ASI’s Web Accessibility

Web accessibility means that web, design and content developer are creating websites and web applications without barriers to people with disabilities, so that people with disabilities can navigate, understand, perceive and interact with the Web. The disabilities that are addressed by web accessibility include physical, visual, auditory, speech, cognitive and neurological disabilities.

Our Web Accessibility Standards are based on Section 508 and Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 1.0 If you have any comments, recommendations or questions regarding the SF State Accessibility Standards, please contact We appreciate all comments and questions.

Section 508

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act was enacted in 1998 and required of the federal government to make all electronic and information technology accessible to people with disabilities. The specific guideline for web accessibility is named Web-based Intranet and Internet Information and Applications (1194.22). Even though the guidelines are loosely based on WCAG 1.0, they differ in many aspects. The guideline includes 16 checkpoints for web accessibility.
More information on section 508.

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 1.0 and 2.0

WCAG 2.0 and the earlier version 1.0 has been developed by the Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI), which is a project within the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). The guidelines are considered the international standard for web accessibility and they are used in many countries around the globe as the baseline for their policies and regulations.
WCAG 2.0 was finalized in December 2008.

All checkpoints are sorted into four main categories:
  • Perceivable - Perceivable refers to the provision of alt text, captions and sufficient contrast.
  • Operable - Operable refers to keyboard accessibility and low flicker rate.
  • Understandable - Understandable means readable text, similar site structure and user-help to avoid and correct mistakes.
  • Robust - Robust means compatibility with current and future technology.

More information on the WCAG 2.0 guideline